Skip to main content

Filters should be reset automatically when navigating to other screen

In my opinion - and after seeing other users - , filters should be cleared the moment a user navigates away from the screen.

Generally, filters are used momentarily just to check something quickly, like searching a table in a Dataset.

It is very confusing when later - could be mins, hours or days later - the user gets back to the screen and the filter is still there, while the user forgot about it.

Another example on filters being confusing:

Catalog > Datasources > ECC selected > Table search "MAR"

Selected another Datasource on the left panel, e.g., Oracle, the filter "MAR" is still there and no records are displayed.

Status: Planned2 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments2

  • John Munkberg

    Team•

    Mar 13

    What is the definition of “Navigating aways from a screen?”.

    For example, I put a filter on a construct page to filter down to “My Open Records” because I need to finish my cleansing work.

    As I drill into one of those records to complete my work, when I return back to that Parent page, I expect that my filter is intact, and my “current row” is where I left off when I drilled down.

    That In / Out / In / Out behavior of complex records feels perfect when we retain the Filter and Current Record.

    BUT - as stated here - Once we navigate away from the whole page - then we want to filter to reset.

    I will ask the engineers to if this is possible given the updates we have made to the Grids in our UI. I don’t think we want to lose the first behavior to get the second.

    • jay.hornback@syniti.com

      •

      Mar 16

      I would say that the scenario you’re describing: where you filter a dataset, then double click into a detail record, then close the pop up or hit the back button - that would be expected behavior to retain the filter. You’re following your breadcrumb or browser cookie path.

      But if I filter a dataset, double click into a detail record, then click something else, go to 5 different pages, then make my way back to the original dataset, I think it’s reasonable to expect the original unfiltered result set would show on the page.

      What I’ve experienced is that even after not being on a page for weeks, it’s retaining a filter. It causes user confusion because expected results are not appearing, and the UI to notify that a filter has been applied might be off the screen (10+ columns over to the right, scrolling horizontally). So it’s not apparent why no results are showing, all because of some filter from weeks past.